First round of South Coast Monaro Rugby Union this weekend


Photo: The 1983 grand final, which saw Bermagui Cobargo defeat Batemans Bay in a thriller. Bermagui Cobargo return to the competition this year. Image courtesy South Coast Monaro Rugby Union. 

Tomorrow (Saturday 17th April) sees the start of the South Coast Monaro Rugby Union competition.

A 10 team competition is ready for kick-off with a number of new teams including Crookwell Dogs, the 2019 premiers, who choose to sit out last season due to concerns over COVID 19.

The competition also welcomes both Cooma Red Devils and Hall Bushrangers, who have both nominated for this competition in preference to the Monaro competition.  A unanimous vote from all clubs allowed both to join. In addition the Bermagui Cobargo Sharks  enthusiastically return after a 12 year absence. Unfortunately Broulee Dolphins withdrew form this season competition.

This weekend is eagerly anticipated by all and includes some good match ups. Games scheduled for a 2.30pm kick off are:

  • Batemans Bay Boars v Hall Bushrangers at Hanging Rock Oval, Batemans Bay. Both teams report good off season recruiting and this should a great game.
  • Bungendore Mudchooks v Braidwood Redbacks at Bungendore. The Mudchooks are still missing a number of suspended players from last year and will make for an interesting game.
  • Taralga Tigers v Cooma Red Devils at Taralga. Taralga won the competition in 2020 and this will give Cooma a good insight into where they fit this season.
  • Crookwell Dogs v Jindabyne Bushpigs. This should be the match of the round with 2020 Premiers Crookwell hosting a Jindabyne side that would be disappointed with the last season grand final loss in extra time.
  • Both Yass Rams and Bermagui Cobargo Sharks have a first round bye.

The season will be played over 15 rounds with the finals to start 7th August and the Grand Final scheduled for Saturday 21st August 2021.

 Follow live scoring and results”through the free app “RugbyXplorer”.