Heritage award nominations open next week

July 14, 2023 7:04 am in by

Nominations for this year’s $1,500 Fergus Thomson OAM Heritage Award open on Monday (July 17).

The award recognises individuals, groups or organisations making a significant contribution to promotion, management, or conservation of the Eurobodalla shire’s heritage.

Previous award winners include the Moruya Antique Tractor and Machinery Association, long-time member of the Moruya & District Historical Society Shirley Jurmann, and local military historian, Gary Traynor.

Article continues after this ad

Eurobodalla Council’s manager of strategic planning Elizabeth Rankin said nominees must have completed their project in the last two years.

“They may have restored a historic building, written a historical book or created a film on Eurobodalla’s cultural heritage. The important element is a contribution to knowledge and awareness of the shire’s heritage,” Ms Rankin said.

Fergus Thomson was Eurobodalla’s first popularly elected mayor and remained a councillor until his passing in 2015. Throughout, he was a passionate advocate for the protection of culture and country, with deep ties to the local Aboriginal community.

“This heritage award recognises Mr Thomson’s legacy while bringing well-deserved recognition to others working to promote our shire’s rich history,” Ms Rankin said.

Nominations for the award close at 4pm on Friday 11 August 2023.

Article continues after this ad

For more information on the award and nominations, visit the heritage award webpage or contact Council’s strategic planning team on 4474 1000.

Image: Eurobodalla Shire Council


Keep up to date

Sign up for our newsletter