Far South Coast RFS member awarded national fire service medal

January 26, 2023 7:12 am in by

Eight Rural Fire Service (RFS) members have been awarded the Australian Fire Service Medal in today’s (January 26) Australia Day Honours in recognition of their hard work and dedication to the community, including one from the Far South Coast.

Deputy Group Captain, from the Surf Beach Rural Fire Brigade, Jennifer Bamman, has been acknowledged for her contribution and commitment to the Service, her fellow RFS members and the Eurobodalla community.

RFS Commissioner, Rob Rogers, congratulated the members on the national acknowledgement of their contribution and commitment to the Service, their fellow RFS members and their communities.

Article continues after this ad

“These members are a credit to the organisation and well deserving of this honour,” Commissioner Rogers said.

“Together, they have given more than 310 years of service to the RFS and their community – an incredible feat.

“Our people are our strength and we are proud to have such experienced, skilled and dedicated members in our ranks.”

The RFS recipients of the AFSM are:
-Deputy Group Captain Jennifer Bamman, Surf Beach Rural Fire Brigade (Far South Coast)
-Group Captain Bruce Angel, Tarcutta Rural Fire Brigade (Riverina)
-Group Captain Peter Bulliman, Boara Rural Fire Brigade (South West Slopes)
-Group Captain Warren Cree, Davidson Rural Fire Brigade (Northern Beaches)
-Deputy Commissioner Peter McKechnie, Narara Rural Fire Brigade (Central Coast)
-Group Captain Maurice McMillen, Eglinton Rural Fire Brigade (Chifley/Lithgow)
-Captain Kym Stanford, Mungindi Rural Fire Brigade (Namoi/Gwydir)
-Group Captain Craig Walters, Elong Elong and Wongarbon Rural Fire Brigades (Orana)

The AFSM was instituted in 1988 to acknowledge distinguished service by members of Australia’s fire services.

Article continues after this ad

Commissioner Rogers said the award recipients had a lengthy list of achievements, including in key leadership roles, training and mentoring and fire and emergency response and coordination such as during the 2019/20 fire season.

“Our members make a valuable contribution to the safety of our community without any expectation of reward or accolades. These awards are a chance to thank not only our eight AFSM recipients but all their colleagues as well.”

Full citations for all recipients are available on the NSW RFS website.

Images: RFS, Jennifer Bamman